ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry

Welcome to the Division of Analytical Chemistry!

The Division's Program Highlights for Washington ACS Meeting

Program Chair Karen Phinney has announced a wide-ranging plan for the next ACS meeting. Here are some highlights:

  • Earle B. Barnes Award for Leadership in Chemical Research Management - honoring Laurie Locascio
  • Nanotechnology and Single Cell Analysis in Biology and Medicine
  • Analytical techniques used to address FDA regulatory questions and challenges 
  • Analytical Chemistry in the Context of Cultural Heritage
  • Division Award Winners symposium
  • Graduate Fellows symposium (a first for the Division)
  • Three graduate student-organized symposia (also a first)
    • Self-assembly and Non-covalent Interactions: The Fundamental Science of Supramolecular Materials

    • Nanopores, Nanopipettes and Nanocapillaires as Tools for Analytical Chemistry

    • Developments in ICP-MS: Advancing Environmental & Clinical Analyses

The full program will be published later in June. Registration for the meeting is open now.

Seven Division Members Elected as American Chemical Society Fellows

The ACS has announced the Fellows elected in the Class of 2017. Eight are members of the Division of Analytical Chemistry:

Larry R. Faulkner, University of Texas at Austin

Barbara S. Larsen, DuPont Company

Yinfa Ma, Missouri University of Science and Technology

Harold M. McNair, Virginia Polytechnic Institute (Emeritus)

Chad A. Mirkin, Northwestern University

Dennis G. Peters, Indiana University, Bloomington

Al Ribes, The Dow Chemical Company

Martha J.M. Wells, EnviroChem Services

The complete list  of 65 new Fellows is available. 

Division Awards Winners for 2017

The Division of Analytical Chemistry awards for 2017 have just been announced. They will be presented at the ACS National Meeting in August in Washington. The recipients are:

  •  Award in Electrochemistry: Paul W. Bohn, University of Notre Dame
  • Award in Spectrochemical Analysis: Zhong-Qun Tian,Xiamen University
  • J. Calvin Giddings Award for Excellence in Education: Kevin A. Schug, University of Texas at Arlington
  • Arthur F. Findeis Award for Achievements by a Young Analytical Scientist, Sponsored by Altria: Matthew F. Bush, University of Washington
  • Award in Chemical Instrumentation, Sponsored by Dow Chemical Company: Robert M. Corn, University of California, Irvine
  • Award for Distinguished Service in the Advancement of Analytical Chemistry: Frances S. Ligler, North Carolina State University and University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

 More information about these honorees is available.



The Division's Facebook site

Our Division's Patrons

Favorite Links