ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry

Award in Spectrochemical Analysis

Advancing the fields of spectrochemical analysis and optical spectrometry in one or more of the following:

  • Conceptualization and development of unique instrumentation that has made a significant impact on the field.
  • Development of novel and important instrumentation.
  • Elucidation of fundamental events or processes important to the field.
  • Authorship of important research papers and/or books that have had an influential role in the development of the field. role in the use of chemical instrumentation.

This Award consists of a plaque and $2500. The latter may be used to help defray travel expenses associated with the recipient's participation in the Division's award ceremony (typically held at the ACS fall National Meeting each year) which are not covered separately by the Division.


1987: James D. Winefordner
1988: Velmer A. Fassel
1989: Gary M. Hieftje
1990: P. W. J. Boumans
1991: John C. Wright
1992: Jean Michel Mermet
1993: Richard Keller
1994: Sanford Asher
1995: Michael Morris
1996: Gary Horlick

1997: Paul Bohn
1998: David L. Allara
1999: D. Bruce Chase
2000: Joseph A. Caruso
2001: M. Bonner Denton
2002: Geri Richmond
2003: Norman J. Dovichi
2004: (no award given)
2005: Raoul Kopelman
2006: Mary Wirth

2007: Robert Corn
2008: Isiah M. Warner
2009: John W. Olesik
2010: Stephen Cramer
2011: Tuan Vo-Dinh
2012: R. Samuel Houk
2013: David Walt
2014: Tim Harris
2015: Frank V. Bright
2016: Richard Russo

2017: Zhong-Qun Tian