ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry

Satinder Ahuja Award for Young Investigators in Separation Science

To recognize and encourage outstanding contributions to the field of separation science by a young chemist or chemical engineer.

Nominations should present evidence for one or more of the following outstanding accomplishments:

  • Conceptualization and development of unique instrumentation for separations
  • Development of novel and important separation methods or methodologies
  • Elucidation of theory or fundamental processes involved in seperations
  • Other significant contributions to the furtherance of separation science role in the use of chemical instrumentation.

Rules of Eligibility: Nomination is open to young chemists or chemical engineers of any nationality from academia, industry, or national laboratories. The nominee must have earned his or her highest degree within ten years of January 1 of the year of the award. The award will be presented annually at the Pittsburgh Conference on Analytical Chemistry and Applied Spectroscopy in the year following announcement of the awardee.  

This Award has been endowed by Satinder Ahuja, Founder of the Subdivision. The Award consists of a plaque and $2500. The latter may be used to help defray travel expenses associated with the recipient's participation in the award ceremony which are not covered separately by the Division.


2004: Andre M. Striegel
2005: Michael T. Bowser
2006: Christopher Culbertson
2007: Adam T. Woolley
2008: Nelson Torto

2009: Craig A. Aspinwall
2010: Philip Britz-McKibbin
2011: Jared L. Anderson
2012: Kevin A. Schug

2013: Michael Roper
2014: Dwight R. Stoll
2015: Matthew Miller

Note: The award is presented at the Pittsburgh Conference in the following year