ACS Division of Analytical Chemistry

Arthur F. Findeis Award for Achievements by a Young Analytical Scientist

Purpose. To recognize and encourage outstanding contributions to the fields of analytical chemistry by a young analytical scientist.

Evidence shall be presented for one or more of the following outstanding accomplishments:

  • Conceptualization and development of unique instrumentation that has had an enabling impact upon analytical chemistry and has substantively advanced the field.
  • Development of novel and important analytical methods or methodologies that have found significant beneficial applications in the chemical sciences.
  • Elucidation of fundamental events or processes involved in or important to analytical chemistry.
  • Authorship of books, patents, and/or research papers that have had an influential role in the development of analytical chemistry.
  • Other significant contributions to the furtherance of analytical chemical sciences role in the use of chemical instrumentation.

Rules of Eligibility. The awardee must have earned his or her highest degree within ten years of January 1 of the year of the award. Both the nationality of the young analytical scientist and the arena (e.g., academic, industrial, national laboratory) in which the contributions of the young analytical scientist have been made are unrestricted.

This Award consists of a plaque and $2500. The latter may be used to help defray travel expenses associated with the recipient's participation in the Division's award ceremony (typically held at the ACS fall National Meeting each year) which are not covered separately by the Division.


1996: Jay K. Trautman
1997: Jonathan Sweedler
1998: Robert T. Kennedy
1999: David E. Clemmer
2000: Kimberly A. Prather
2001: Sylvia Daunert
2002: (no award given)

2003: Stephan J. Stranick
2004: David C. Muddiman
2005: Jason B. Shear
2006: Neil Kelleher
2007: Garth J. Simpson
2008: Laurie E. Locascio
2009: John R. Engen

2010: Christy L. Haynes
2011: Joshua Coon
2012: Aaron Wheeler
2013: Ryan Bailey
2014: Ben Garcia
2015: Scott T. Phillips
2016: Peter Nemes

2017: Matthew F. Bush